East Germany National History

January 1945 Soviet army begins to fight on German territory. 8 May 1945 Germany surrenders. French/British/American occupied zones united 1947. June 1948-May 1949 Berlin Airlift by the Allies to overcome Soviet blockade of the city. 1949 Russian occupied zone becomes East Germany (DDR), western zone becomes West Germany (FRG). 1956 East Germany joins the Warsaw Pact alliance. 1961 Berlin Wall is built. 1989 Berlin Wall is broken open. October 1990 East Germany unites with West Germany. 1997 Capital city moved from Bonn to Berlin.

[To be rewritten and updated!]

Leave a Comment