Bolivia Key Dates

600 B.C.    The first great Andean empire has emerged.
1470    Several Aymara kingdoms rebelled against Inca rule.
1524    Francisco Pizarro, Diego de Almagro, and Hernando de Luque led the Spanish discovery and conquest of the Inca Empire.
1539    Chuquisaca (todays Sucre) was founded.
1776    Upper Peru joined the new Viceroyalty of Río de la Plata (whose capital was Buenos Aires).
1780    Túpac Amaru II led a full-scale revolt against Spain.
6 August 1825    The assembly adopted a declaration of independence.
1825    Simón Bolívar became the first president of Bolivia.
1836    President Santa Cruz established the Peru-Bolivia Confederation.
1878-1884    War of the Pacific between Bolivia and Chile, Bolivia lost its entire coastal territory.
1903    In the Treaty of Petropolis Bolivia relinquished its claims of Acre territory to Brazil.
1932-1935    War of Gran Chaco
31 October 1952    Tthe government nationalized the three big tin companies.
10 October 1967    Ernesto "Che" Guevara was killed, when he had tried to start a guerrilla movement.
10 October 1982    Siles Zuazo assumed the presidency after 18 years of military rule.
June 2002    Gonzalo Sanchez de Lozada became president.
18 December 2005    Evo Morales Ayma was elected president.
1 May 2006    President Evo Morales signed a decree stating that all natural gas reserves were to be nationalized.

Leave a Comment