Paraguay Key Dates

1516    Failed expedition of Juan Díaz de Solís to the Río de la Plata Estuary.
15 August 1537    Asunción is founded.
1542    The province became part of the newly established Viceroyalty of Peru, with its seat in Lima.
1556    Establishment of the Roman Catholic Church in Paraguay.
1767    Spanish king, Charles III (1759-88), expelled the Jesuits.
1776    The crown created the Viceroyalty of Río de la Plata; Paraguay, which had been subordinate to Lima, now became an outpost of Buenos Aires.
17 May 1811    Paraguay declared independence.
30 September 1813    The congress met for the first time.
1814    José Gaspar Rodríguez de Francia became the first president of Paraguay.
1844    Carlos Antonio López became the second president of Paraguay.
1864-1870    War against Argentina, Brazil, and Uruguay.
1876    Last foreign troops left Paraguay.
1912    Eduardo Schaerer became president.
1932-1935    War of Chaco with Bolivia.
21 July 1938    Peace treaty signed with Bolivia, fixed the final boundaries behind the Paraguayan battle lines.
December 1946    Coup d’état in December 1946 and full-scale civil war in March 1947.
15 August 1954    Alfredo Stroessner Mattiauda became president.
1989    Stroessner was overthrown by army leader General Andres Rodriguez.
1992    Paraguay’s new constitution went into effect.
15 August 2003    Nicanor Duarte Frutos became president.

Leave a Comment