Oman Key Dates

1749    Albusaidi dynasty assumes control of Oman.
1861    Oman becomes a British protectorate.
1951    Muscat and Oman is granted full independence by Britain.
1968    British forces withdraw from the Gulf region.
1970    Ruling Sultan is replaced by his son.
1970    Country renamed Oman.
1975    Dhofar revolt suppressed.
1991    Consultative Council established.
March 1981    Oman is a founder member of Gulf Cooperation Council.
2 August 1990    Iraq invades Kuwait.
1997    Council of State established.

[To be rewritten]

Leave a Comment