Qatar Key Dates

1700s    Ottoman (Turkish) Empire takes control of the area.
18th Century    Arab al-Thanis dynasty assumes control of Qatar.
1861    Qatar becomes a British protectorate.
1968    British forces withdraw from the Gulf region.
1971    Qatar is granted full independence by Britain.
March 1981    Qatar is a founder member of Gulf Cooperation Council.
2 August 1990    Iraq invades Kuwait.
August 1990-mid 1991    Qatar hosts British forces before and during the Gulf War.
1995    Ruling Shaikh Khalifa overthrown by Shaikh Hamad.
1999    First elections for new municipal council.

[To be rewritten]

2 thoughts on “Qatar Key Dates

Leave a Comment