Royal Air Force Current Order of Battle
Aeroflight Home Page
 World Air Forces
Back to RAF Index Page

United Kingdom
Air Force

Royal Air Force

Order of Battle:
Squadron Type Base
Ministry of Defence (Air) - Air Force Board
Strike Command - HQ High Wycombe
1 Group (Air Combat Group) - HQ High Wycombe
1 Squadron* Harrier GR.7/7A/9/T.10 Cottesmore
2 Squadron Tornado GR.4/4A Marham
3 Squadron Typhoon T.1/F.2 Coningsby
4 Squadron* Harrier GR.7/7A/9/T.10 Cottesmore
6 Squadron Jaguar GR.3A/T.4 Coningsby
9 Squadron Tornado GR.4 Marham
12 Squadron Tornado GR.4/4A Lossiemouth
13 Squadron Tornado GR.4/4A Marham
14 Squadron Tornado GR.4/4A Lossiemouth
15(R) Squadron (NTOCU) Tornado GR.4 Lossiemouth
17(R) Squadron
(Typhoon OEU)
Typhoon T.1/F.2 Coningsby
20(R) Squadron (233 OCU)* Harrier GR.7/T.10/T.12 Wittering
25 Squadron Tornado F.3 Leeming
29(R) Squadron (T OCU) Typhoon T.1/F.2 Coningsby
31 Squadron Tornado GR.4/4A Marham
41(R) Sqn Tornado GR.4, Tornado F.3, Harrier GR.9/9A Coningsby
43 Squadron Tornado F.3 Leuchars
56(R) Squadron (229 OCU) Tornado F.3 Leuchars
100 Squadron Hawk T.1/T.1A/T.1W Leeming
111 Squadron Tornado F.3 Leuchars
617 Squadron Tornado GR.4/4A Lossiemouth
1435 Flight Tornado F.3 Mount Pleasant, Falklands
2 Group (Air Combat Support Group) - HQ High Wycombe
5 Squadron Sentinel R.1 Waddington
8 Squadron Boeing Sentry AEW.1 Waddington
22 Squadron HQ Sea King HAR.3/3A St. Mawgan
- A Flight Sea King HAR.3A Chivenor
- B Flight Sea King HAR.3A Wattisham
- C Flight Sea King HAR.3 Valley
23 Squadron (Sentry OCU) Boeing Sentry AEW.1 Waddington
24 Squadron Hercules C.4/C.5 Lyneham
30 Squadron Hercules C.4/C.5 Lyneham
32 (The Royal) Squadron BAe 125 CC.3, BAe 146 CC.2,
39 Squadron (1 PRU) Canberra PR.9 Marham
42(R) Squadron (236 OCU) Nimrod MR.2 Kinloss
47 Squadron Hercules C.1/C.3 Lyneham
51 Squadron Nimrod R.1 Waddington
54(R) Squadron Nimrod R.1, Sentry AEW.1 Waddington
70 Squadron Hercules C.1/C.3 Lyneham
99 Squadron C-17A Globemaster III Brize Norton
101 Squadron VC-10 C.1K/K.3/4 Brize Norton
120 Squadron Nimrod MR.2 Kinloss
201 Squadron Nimrod MR.2 Kinloss
202 Squadron HQ Sea King HAR.3 Boulmer
- A Flight Sea King HAR.3 Boulmer
- D Flight Sea King HAR.3 Kinloss
- E Flight Sea King HAR.3 Leconfield
203(R) Squadron Sea King HAR.3 St. Mawgan
216 Squadron TriStar K.1/KC.1/C.2/C.2A Brize Norton
1312 Flight Hercules C.1, VC-10 K.2/3/4 Mount Pleasant, Falklands
Hercules OEU Hercules C.1/C.3/C.4/C.5 Lyneham
Northolt Station Flight Islander CC.2/2A Northolt
Direct Reporting Units
78 Squadron Chinook HC.2, Sea King HAR.3 Mount Pleasant, Falklands
84 Squadron Griffin HAR.2 Akrotiri, Cyprus
1115 Flight $ Predator UAV Indian Springs, NV, USA
1310 Flight Chinook HC.2 Khandahar, Afghanistan
1419 Flight Merlin HC.3 Basra, Iraq
1563 Flight Puma HC.1 Basra, Iraq
Operation 'Heric' Harrier GR.7A Khandahar, Afghanistan
Operation 'Telic' Tornado GR.4 Al Udeid, Qatar
BBMF Spitfire, Hurricane, Lancaster,
Dakota, Chipmunk
Personnel & Training Command - HQ Innsworth
19(R) Squadron (4 FTS) Hawk T.1/T.1A/T.1W Valley
45(R) Squadron (3 FTS) King Air 200 Cranwell
55(R) Squadron (3 FTS) Dominie T.1 Cranwell
72(R) Squadron (1 FTS) Tucano T.1 Linton-on-Ouse/Topcliffe
207(R) Squadron (1 FTS) Tucano T.1 Linton-on-Ouse/Topcliffe
208(R) Squadron (4 FTS) Hawk T.1/T.1A/T.1W Valley
1 FTS (inc CFS) Tucano T.1 Linton-on-Ouse/Topcliffe
3 FTS (inc CFS) Dominie T.1, King Air 200, Grob G.115E Tutor Cranwell
4 FTS (inc CFS) Hawk T.1/T.1A Valley
CFS Tutor Squadron (3 FTS) Grob G.115E Tutor Cranwell
CFS Tucano Squadron (1 FTS) Tucano T.1 Topcliffe
RAF College Air Squadron Grob G.115E Tutor, T-67M Firefly Cranwell
The Red Arrows Hawk T.1/T.1A/T.1W Scampton
University Air Squadrons/AEFs Grob G.115E Tutor -
Volunteer Gliding Squadrons Viking T.1/Vigilant T.1 -
Joint Helicopter Command - HQ Wilton
7 Squadron Chinook HC.2/Gazelle AH.1 Odiham
18 Squadron Chinook HC.2/HC.2A Odiham
27 Squadron Chinook HC.2/HC.2A Odiham
28 Squadron Merlin HC.3 Benson
33 Squadron Puma HC.1 Benson
60(R) Squadron (DHFS) Bell Griffin HT.1 Shawbury
- SARTU Bell Griffin HT.1 Valley
230 Squadron Puma HC.1 Aldergrove

* = Part of Joint Force Harrier
$ = Part of USAF 15th RS.
BBMF = Battle of Britain Memorial Flight
R = Reserve
OCU = Operational Conversion Unit
OEU = Operational Evluation Unit
FJ & GW OEU = Fast Jet & Guided Weapons Operational Evaluation Unit
CFS = Central Flying School
FTS = Flying Training School
DHFS = Defence Helicopter Flying School
NTOCU = National Tornado OCU
SARTU = Search and Rescue Training Unit

^ Top of Page  << Last Page   Index Page   Next Page >>  Site Search 
First Created: 30 August 1999 - Last Revised: 22 July 2006
Copyright © 1999 John Hayles.     e-mail: