Guyana Key Dates

1498    Columbus sighted the Guyanese coast, during his third voyage to the Americas, the Dutch were the first Europeans to settle what is now Guyana.
1616    The Dutch established the first European settlement in the area of Guyana.
1648    Dutch sovereignty was officially recognized with the signing of the Treaty of Munster
February 1763    slave uprising.
1781    A war broke out between the Netherlands and Britain, which resulted in the British occupation of Berbice, Essequibo, and Demerara.
1783    Geogetown was established.
1784    Dutch regained power.
1814    At the London Convention both colonies were formally ceded to Britain.
1831    Berbice and the United Colony of Demerara and Essequibo were unified as British Guiana.
1899    A border disput between Guyana and Venezuela was settled.
1917    British Guiana Labour Union (BGLU) was established.
1928    British Colonial Office announced a new constitution that would make British Guiana a crown colony under tight control of a governor appointed by the Colonial Office.
January 1950    Jagan founded the People’s Progressive Party (PPP).
30 May 1953    Jagan became prime minister.
9 October 1953    London suspended the colony’s constitution and, under pretext of quelling disturbances, sent in troops.
26 May 1966    Guyana became independent.
23 February 1970    Guyana declared itself a "cooperative republic" and cut all ties to the British monarchy.
November 1978    Jonestown massacre.
1980    A new constitution was promulgated.
10 August 1985    Desmond Hoyte became the new executive president.
October 1992    Cheddi Baret Jagan became the president a third time.
1999    Bharrat Jagdeo assumed the presidency.
1999    Mireya Elisa Moscoso Rodriguez became Panama‚Äôs first female president and the Panama Canal Zone returned to Panama.

Leave a Comment