Haiti Key Dates

6 December 1492    Christopher Columbus arrived on the island of Hispaniola and made it a Spanish colony and founded the settlement Navidad.
1493    Columbus established a second settlement, Isabela.
1548    The Taino Indians population, estimated at 1 million in 1492, had been reduced to approximately 500
1586    Sir Francis Drake of England led one of the most famous forays against the port of Santo Domingo.
1655    English fleet tried to take Santo Domingo, but was defeated.
1697    Under the Treaty of Ryswick, Spain ceded the western third of the island to France.
1791    A slave revolt broke out in the French colony.
1795    Treaty of Basel. The accord directed Spain to cede its holdings on Hispaniola to France
5 May 1802    Toussaint surrendered to Leclerc.
1 January 1804    Haiti proclaimed its independence.
26 October 1820    General Jean-Pierre Boyer claimed it on October 26 at Cap Haïtien at the head of 20,000 troops. Haiti was once again a single nation.
30 November 1821    José Núñez de Cáceres announced the independence of the eastern part of the island as the state of Spanish Haiti.
1822    President of Haiti, Jean-Pierre Boyer, decided to invade Santo Domingo and to reunite the island under the Haitian flag.
1843    President Boyer was overthrow in the Revolution of 1843.
August 1849    Faustin Soulouque proclaimed himself as Haiti’s second emperor, Faustin I
1915    The first U.S. Marines landed in Port-au-Prince on July 28. For the next nineteen years, Haiti’s powerful neighbor to the north guided and governed the country.
August 1934    The last contingent of U.S. marines departed in mid-August.
March 1947    Estimé renamed the Garde the Haitian Army (Armée d’Haïti).
6 December 1950    Paul Magloire won the election and assumed office.
1957    François Duvalier ("Papa Doc") became president ruling the country as dictator.
1971    At the time of his death in 1971, François Duvalier designated his son, Jean-Claude Duvalier ("Baby Doc"), as Haiti’s new leader.
7 February 1986    Jean-Claude and Michèle Duvalier departed from Haiti to France. Lieutenant General Henri Namphy came to power in Haiti.
December 1990    Under the supervision of the United Nations the radical priest Jean-Bertrand Aristide became president.
30 September 1991    Brigadier-General Raoul Cedras seized power in a military coup.
19 September 1994    U.S. Army units, with U.N. support, land in Haiti to restore democracy and reinstall Jean-Bertrand Aristide as president.
January 1996    René Préva became next president.
December 1998    Last of the U.N. sponsored MIPONUH troops leave Haiti.
March 2002    Yvon Neptune became president.

Leave a Comment